The Joe Leaphorn Mysteries (1989)


The Joe Leaphorn Mysteries is an anthology of the first three novels from Tony Hillerman's Navajo Mystery Series including: The Blessing Way (1970), Dance Hall of the Dead (1973), and Listening Woman (1978). This edition celebrates the first amazing adventures of the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn. The Joe Leaphorn Mysteries was first published in 1989 by Harper & Row and is the first anthology published by Tony Hillerman, followed by The Jim Chee Mysteries in 1990.


Here are three outstanding mysteries, all featuring Navajo Tribal Police Lt. Joe Leaphorn, one of the genre's most insightful and intriguing sleuths. In The Blessing Way, a casual summer outing in the high desert to investigate rumors of Navajo sorcery leads Leaphorn and anthropologist Bergen McKee to a series of inexplicably grisly murders. In Dance Hall of the Dead, Leaphorn is assigned to track down a missing Navajo youth whose Zuni friend was found brutally murdered. With thousands of square miles of desert before him and only his keen sense of reason as a guide, Leaphorn's search unearths a deadly secret and a ruthless killer who will stop at nothing to keep it hidden. And in Listening Woman the murder of a terminally ill old man and a teenage girl on a desolate mesa has the state police and the FBI baffled. But Leaphorn's uncanny powers of deduction and his knowledge of the ways of his people lead him into a fanatical, century-old plot and the bloody heart of the mystery.

    Enlarge Image

    View Editions