Laguna Pueblo, New Mexico

Encyclopedia Article


The Laguna Pueblo of central New Mexico consists of six major villages, of which the political center is Old Laguna (Kawaika) on a knoll above the San Jose River about 42 miles west of Albuquerque on U.S. Route 66/Interstate-40.

Although each Pueblo community is unique, Pueblos along the Rio Grande in New Mexico all share some common characteristics. From architecture to spiritual observances, Pueblo life consists of an integration of nature, spirit, and material in a synthesis that looks toward the holistic well-being not just of the community but also the universe in which it exists.

Photo Credit: 

"Mission San José de la Laguna, Laguna Pueblo, New Mexico, December 19, 2010" by Ken Lund.